Dutch GP: Max Verstappen Overcomes Rain-Hit Race To Equal Vettel’s Record Of Nine Straight Victories In A Row


Max Verstappen won a chaotic rain-hit Dutch Grand Prix to claim a record-equaling ninth successive Formula 1 victory. Red Bull’s Verstappen overcame huge downpours at both the start and towards the end of his home race to match the record Sebastian Vettel set with the same team in 2013.

Fernando Alonso took second for Aston Martin, while Pierre Gasly claimed his first podium for Alpine in third after benefitting from a penalty for Verstappen’s Red Bull team-mate Sergio Perez, who was demoted to fourth.

The race started dry before rain caused chaos at the end of lap one, with a dry period followed by a torrential downpour that halted proceedings for 40 minutes on the 65th of 72 laps with cars skidding off. Fernando Alonso put Aston Martin back on the podium with second place and a bonus point for fastest lap after the eventual rolling re-start behind the safety car led to a thrilling final chase at the seaside circuit.

Pierre Gasly was third, his first podium finish for Renault-owned Alpine, as Red Bull’s Sergio Perez collected a five-second post-race penalty for speeding in the pit lane and dropped to fourth. Verstappen now leads Perez, his closest rival, by a mighty 138 points with nine races remaining.

“Incredible. They didn’t make it easy for us with the weather to make all the right calls. Incredibly proud,” said Verstappen as his army of orange-clad fans began the celebrations. “I already had goosebumps when they were playing the national anthem before the start,” added the 25-year-old, who chatted happily with the Dutch king and queen before the podium ceremonies. “Even with all the bad weather, the rain, the fans are still going at it. So an incredible atmosphere.”

Verstappen’s 11th victory of the season, and 46th of his career, provided another big push towards clinching a third title well before the end of the season. He will also have the opportunity at next weekend’s Italian Grand Prix to move beyond the nine successive wins Sebastian Vettel recorded for Red Bull in 2013. The victory also maintained Red Bull’s record of having won every race this season, with the team’s record run of victories, which stretches back to the final race of 2022, now at 14.

Dutch GP result:

1) Max Verstappen, Red Bull

2) Fernando Alonso, Aston Martin

3) Pierre Gasly, Alpine

4) Sergio Perez, Red Bull

5) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari

6) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

7) Lando Norris, McLaren

8) Alex Albon, Williams

9) Oscar Piastri, McLaren

10) Esteban Ocon, Alpine

Share post:




More like this


The Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC) has...


The newly appointed Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO) for...

UEFA Champions League: Mbappe Stars As PSG Beat 10-man Barcelona

Luis Enrique returned to Barcelona to knock his former...

Tennis: Nadal Makes Triumphant Return At Barcelona Open

Rafael Nadal enjoyed a winning start at the Barcelona...