Chief Justice To Swear In Nine Jury Members


The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, is set to officiate the induction of 9 newly appointed Justices to the Court of Appeal on Wednesday, September 20, 2023.

This inauguration ceremony will take place at the Main Court Auditorium of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, as confirmed by a statement from Dr. Festus Akande, the Director of Press and Information at the Supreme Court. The event is scheduled to commence at 11:00 am.

Among the distinguished appointees are Hannatu Azumi Laja-Balogun from Kaduna State, who began her judicial career as a High Court Judge on May 24, 1999; Binta Fatima Zubairu, also from Kaduna State, who assumed the role of a High Court Judge on October 31, 2001; and Peter Chudi Obiora from Anambra State, who was sworn in as a High Court Judge on January 17, 2005.

The roster also includes Justices Okon Efreti Abang from Akwa Ibom State, Asma’u Musa Mainoma from the Federal Capital Territory, Lateef Adebayo Ganiyu from Oyo State, and Jane Esienanwan Iyang from Cross River State, who all embarked on their judicial careers as High Court Judges.

Completing the list are Hadiza Rabiu Shagari from Sokoto State, who was elevated to the High Court Bench on February 12, 2015, and Paul Ahmed Bassi from Borno State, appointed to the High Court on July 14, 2017.

The traditional farewell court session in honor of one retiring justice, Justice Amina Augie, was delayed due to the annual court vacation, concluding on September 15, 2023. Justice Augie, who joined the Supreme Court in 2016, graduated with a Second Class Upper Division in Law from the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University) in 1977 and was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1978.

With Justice Augie’s retirement, the Supreme Court will now operate with only 11 Justices, rather than the constitutionally mandated 22. The remaining members of the apex court bench include CJN Olukayode Ariwoola, Musa Dattijo, Kudirat Motomori Kekere-Ekun, John Inyang Okoro, Uwani Abba Aji, Garba Lawal, Helen Morenikeji Ogunwumiju, Ibrahim Saulawa, Adamu Jauro, Tijjani Abubakar, and Emmanuela Akomaye Agim.

It is important to note that Justice Centus Chima Nweze of the Supreme Court passed away in July of this year.

Share post:




More like this

Miami Grand Prix: Norris Beats Verstappen To Win First Race In Formula one

Lando Norris claimed the first victory of his Formula...

German Football: Leverkusen Continue Unbeaten Streak With Win Over Frankfurt

Bundesliga champions Bayer Leverkusen thrashed Eintracht Frankfurt as they...

Rublev Overcomes Illness To Claim Madrid Open Crown

Andrey Rublev overcame illness and losing the first set...

Tennis: Swiatek Defeats Sabalenka In Thrilling Madrid Open Final

World number one Iga Swiatek saved three championship points...