Miami Grand Prix: Norris Beats Verstappen To Win First Race In Formula one


Lando Norris claimed the first victory of his Formula 1 career in his 110th race as he took full advantage of a timely Safety Car and then emphatically pulled away from Max Verstappen to win the Miami Grand Prix.

Shedding the unwanted record of the most podium finishes without a win in his sixth season of F1, Norris ran only sixth in the race’s opening stages but the decision by McLaren to extend his opening stint proved inspired when the Safety Car was called for a crash for Williams’ Logan Sargeant on lap 29.

Having already inherited the lead with all those ahead of him having pitted by then – including race leader Verstappen – Norris was then crucially able to pit while the rest of the field ran to the reduced speed behind the Safety Car and re-emerge still in front. But the job was far from over though with 24 laps still to go and Verstappen, the dominant winner of four of the season’s first five races, right behind him for the restart.

Yet Norris made light of that apparent challenge to close out his first F1 triumph as, instead of having to focus on defending from the world champion behind him, the 24-year-old consistently pulled away from Verstappen in the laps that followed and eventually won by a dominant 7.6-second margin.

Norris takes McLaren’s first win since Daniel Ricciardo’s in the 2021 Italian GP and just their second in the past 12 years. Fighting back tears as his jubilant McLaren team lifted him aloft in the pit lane as wild celebrations commenced, Norris said: “About time! What a race. It’s been a long time coming. Finally, I’ve managed to do it.”

With no answer to friend and rival Norris’ speed after the restart, Verstappen had to settle for a rare second place – just the second time in the world champion’s past 23 race finishes that he has been beaten on track.

Miami GP result: Top 10

1) Lando Norris, McLaren

2) Max Verstappen, Red Bull

3) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari

4) Sergio Perez, Red Bull

5) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari*

6) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

7) Yuki Tsuonda, RB

8) George Russell, Mercedes

9) Fernando Alonso, Aston Martin

10) Esteban Ocon, Alpine

*5-second time penalty applied



Share post:




More like this

Nigeria Introduces TELA Maize Amid Concerns Raised Over Genetically Modified Crops

The Nigerian Government recently introduced a new genetically modified...

Put Tobacco-Style Warnings On Social Media: US Surgeon General

US Surgeon General Dr. Vivek Murthy is urging Congress...

Shocking Report of Potential Juror Misconduct in Trump Trial

As US Presidential candidate Donald Trump’s trial and conviction...

G7 Plans $50 Billion Loan for Ukraine from Frozen Russian Assets

Leaders of the Group of Seven wealthy democracies (G7)...