Top news sites

Local Government Election Update (Lagos) – APC Sweeps (Update)

Lagos State Government election updates for 2021 lcda

The 2021 Lagos State Local Government election with a recent update from INEC shows powerful sign that the ruling party, All Progressive Congress, APC, will emerge winners In all local council development areas contested by different political parties in Nigeria.

Ireport247 correspondents monitored a few of the elections polling units and reports from different correspondent shows only a few of the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission officials arrived promptly to their polling units. This is rather disappointing to some candidates.

Mr Agboola Odunifa, a member of the opposing party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), lament at officials who arrived late to their polling units. He blamed the low turnout of voters in his local government (Lagos Island East) area on officials of Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) who arrived late and were less motivated to work.

Lagos State Local Council Development Area Election Update On Violence

Lagos State Local Government Election Updates 2021 In Nigeria

The election was not as peaceful as anticipated in the first place. Reports flew in from multiple media and independent sources about hitches and violence in a few of the local government areas.

Security apparatus was quickly dispersed to various polling units for the safety and update of election ballots, Lagos State officials, voters and Nigeria government properties.

Yinka Egbeyemi, who is the commander of the Rapid Response Teams of the Lagos unit command officially led a full unit to trouble prone areas after report of violence and intimidation from local street urchins.

One of the media outlet who reports the first result was Vanguard. The show the All Progressive Congress sweeping the chairmanship and council votes in Iba Local Council Development Area, Ward E, pulling unit 022 for councilors.

APC 93, APGA 1, PDP. 11

low voters turnout

The chairmanship record as at then stands as APC 98, APGA 0, PDP 3, Void 4.

election in Nigeria

The ruling party was also boosted by winning the Coker-Aguda Local Council Development Area with the youngest chairmans in Nigerias history.

Further reports shows the ruling party, APC are winning in Oriade, Oshodi, Apapa, Ikorodu, Badagry, Alimosho, Agege, Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Amuwo-Odofin, Ono, Epe, Ipaja Mosan-Okunola area and more.

Securities at polling units helping secure voters in Nigeria latest lcda election

Meanwhile, our correspondents reports a new election updates when the Lagos State number one citizen, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and his wife cast their votes in this Lagos State Local Government Election at Unit 09 Ward L2, Lateef Jakande at 11:30 am before departing the poll after a few photos.

Badagry Local Government Election Update

Olusegun Onilude, won his re-election in badagry as the ruling party won at all polls in Badagry. The Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission decleared him winner in the early hours of Sunay.

Badagry West Local Government Area also re-elect Joseph Gbenu.

Our correspondent ask one of the voters why they vote Joseph Gbenu, she said “Hon. Joseph Gbenu who served Badagry West Local Government area in various capacity before being elected as chairman four years ago, was re-elected base on his modern effort to uplift Badagry West in Lagos State.”

Surah Animashaun Victories For The Ruling Party

The ruling party score another victory with Oba Animashaun`s daughter, Surah Animashaun the winner of EPE Local Government Area.

According to reports, Surah Animashaun scores 11,232 votes compared to her challenger from the opposing party, Peoples Democratic Party who scores just 896 votes.