Sheroes Award 2022: Amusan, Oshoala, Olowookere, Others Listed


World champion, Tobi Amusan, who won gold and broke records in 100m hurdles at this year’s World Athletics Championship and Commonwealth Games, is among distinguished Nigerian sportsmen and women decorated with 2022 Sheroes Awards in Abuja.
A statement jointly signed by Ratel Sports Development Foundation (RSDF) President, Barrister Paul Edeh, and the awards committee chairman, Mr Moses Bako also listed reigning African Woman Footballer of the Year and Nigeria’s Super Falcons forward, Asisat Oshoala, as the winner of the Shero Footballer of the Year Award. Head coach of Nigeria’s U-17 women’s national team (Flamingos), Bankole Olowookere, was also presented with the Shero Sports Icon of the Year award. Coach Olowokere led the Flamingos to win, for the first time, a bronze medal at the just concluded FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.
According to the organisers, “the Sheroes Award is a yearly event dedicated to celebrating and highlighting the remarkable achievements of African women globally and their outstanding successes. It also seeks to highlight and celebrate women who have continued to leave indelible marks in the annals of our society.
Other awardees are Super Falcons player Monday Gift (Sheroe Women Football Rising Star of the year), Wife of Edo State Governor, Mrs Betsy Obaseki (Sheroe Trailblazer of the year), a board member of the NFF, Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen (Sheroe Lifetime Achievement award), Mrs Nneka Onyeali-Ikpe (Sheroe Capital Achievement award), Coach Emmanuel Osahon (Sheroe Women Football Talent Developer of the year, Ruqayyah Adeboye (Sheroe Humanitarian of the year), Nelly Orisakwe (Sheroe Women Football Grassroots Coach of the year) and Ayisat Yusuf-Aromire (Sheroe Girl-Child Advocate of the year). There is also a posthumous award for late Alhaji Tewogboye Oyewole as Sheroe Pioneer of Women Football in Nigeria.
And out of the 36 states and the FCT, Lagos State Football Association has been picked as Sheroe Most Outstanding Women Football Development FA of the year.

The theme for the Sheroes Award 2022 is: ‘This Is Our Moment – African Women Breaking Limits.’ Undoubtedly, the women awarded the 2022 Sheroes Award are indeed limit breakers, whose moments are celebrated, particularly their incredible success story.

Share post:




More like this

Table Tennis: Aruna Quadri Beats Japan’s Harimoto To Reach WTT Singapore Smash Quarter-Final

Aruna Quadri has qualified for the quarter-final of the...

OpenAI Announces GPT-4 The Next Generation Of Its AI Language Model

After months of rumors and speculation, OpenAI has announced...

U-20 World Cup: Nigeria’s Flying Eagles Placed In Pot 3

The Flying Eagles of Nigeria have been pitted in...


Concerns have been raised by the Federal Government regarding...